top of page
Musician

BMJazz Katz

TUTORS

"We are Jack ‘Mac’ McDougal on Saxophone, Nick Kacal on Double Bass and Ryan Thrupp on drums and we make up the regular tutors for the BMJ Jazz Katz. The three of us are all professional jazz musicians, performing regularly both as a trio group as well as in various other ensembles and collectives.  

 

BMJ approached us at the start of 2023 with the aims of expanding the youth jazz workshop series. Having all worked with and performed for Black Mountain Jazz, we were excited and enthusiastic to be a part of this new initiative.

 

The workshops are for students of all ages and run twice a month, once a Tuesday evening and once on a Sunday afternoon, with a monthly performance by the tutors with a featured guest artist happening afterwards on the Sunday evening. In these workshops we aim to teach Jazz performance and improvisation from a more organic, aural tradition, with plenty of listening and no sheet music involved.

 

It is a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere with the sole purpose of showing participants the enjoyment and fulfilment that can be had from jazz music with the aim that they take home the knowledge and confidence they gain from the workshops to be able to use in their future musical journeys."

Testimonials

"a fabulous opportunity"

- Ali Straker (Mother)

"A full house and a standing ovation for the first outing of our young BMJazz Katz. What a concert! We are so proud of both these budding youngsters and our teachers who have inspired these young instrumentalists. Work, Play, Inspire!​"

- Jack Mac (Tutor)

2024 SPRING & SUMMER DATES

Sunday 7th April: 2.30pm
Tuesday 23rd April: 5pm
Sunday 12th May: 2.30pm
Tuesday 21st May: 4.30pm
Thursday 6th June: 5pm (followed by a performance at 6pm)
Sunday 16th June: 2.30pm
Sunday 7th July: 2.30pm
Tuesday 30th July: 5pm
Sunday 11th August: 2.30pm
Tuesday 20th August: 5pm
Tuesday 10th September: 5pm
 
BMJazz Katz are scheduled to perform at the wall2wall Jazz Festival in the afternoon of Sunday 29th September.

For more information please contact Mike on 07958 612691.

_1110473_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Supported by

Abergavenny Town Council.jpg
Rotary Abergavenny.jpg
amatsu.png
bottom of page